Charlotte Votes on Clean Energy

Jun 22, 2018

On Monday, June 25, 2018, The Charlotte City Council will vote on a historical Sustainable and Resilient Resolution that will put Charlotte on the path to 100% clean and renewable energy; and away from the use of coal and gas that will contribute to civilization threatening climate change; and poor health outcomes.

Please email all the City Council Members below, and include your name, and the neighborhood or community that you live in. Below are a few talking points that may help you write your letter of support for the Resolution to Council Members. Please also try to attend the City Council meeting on Monday, June 25 at 6:00pm to show your support for the passage of the 100% Clean Energy Resolution. Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center, 600 E. Fourth Street, Charlotte, NC 28202

TAKE ACTION: Show Your Support for Clean Energy

Email all Charlotte City Council members and tell them you support the passage of the Sustainable and Resilient Resolution

Vi Lyles, Mayor
vlyles@charlottenc.gov

Julie Eiselt, Mayor Pro Tem
Julie.Eiselt@charlottenc.gov

Braxton Winston, At Large
Braxton.Winston@charlottenc.gov

James Mitchell, At Large
James.Mitchell@charlottenc.gov

Dimple Ajmera, At Large
Dimple.Ajmera@charlottenc.gov

Larken Egleston, District 1
Larken.Egleston@charlottenc.gov

Justin Harlow, District 2
Justin.Harlow@charlottenc.gov

Lawana Mayfield, District 3
lmayfield@charlottenc.gov

Greg Phipps, District 4
gaphipps@charlottenc.gov

Matt Newton, District 5
Matt.Newton@charlottenc.gov

Tariq Bokhari, District 6
Tariq.Bokhari@charlottenc.gov

Ed Driggs, District 7
edriggs@charlottenc.gov

 

How Will the Resolution Benefit Charlotte?

  • Charlotte needs to lead the nation on 100% clean energy, our city has the resources, vision, and leadership to make this happen! There are several cities across the nation, including Columbia, S.C. and Boone, N.C, which have passed similar 100% clean energy resolutions, and are actively planning the transition to 100% clean energy.
  • The use of solar and wind energy will lower the City’s monthly utility costs. Over all energy costs for the City of Charlotte, especially in the transportation sectors will be reduced, due to having more clean transportation that would be run by batteries— not using much more expensive and polluting oil and gas.
  • Professor Michael Mann of Penn State University, one of the world’s leading climate scientists, recently stated in Time Magazine that America and the world, must be well on our way to transitioning to 100% clean energy in all energy sectors, in order to avoid civilization threatening climate change.
  • According to the Solutions Project, approximately 200,000 clean energy jobs can be created in N.C. over the next several years, if North Carolina transitions to 100% clean energy. This would include the installation, construction, maintenance, and operations of clean energy jobs of solar panels on public schools, parking lots, homes, apartments, or public buildings. The building of energy efficient housing, wind turbines, wind farms, solar farms, and the maintenance of these clean energy systems.
  • This would also help Charlotte become a “high employment” and “higher wage” City, where there is more equal opportunity for upward mobility; unfortunately the City of Charlotte is ranked at the bottom of cities in terms of being able to transition out of poverty and into the middle class.
  • By having city owned and operated clean energy powered transit such as electric buses, electric police cars, snow plows, SUV’s, and trucks powered by 100% clean energy by 2030, there will be much cleaner and safer air and water; and better health outcomes for the residents of Charlotte.
  • Not having to use fracked gas for energy in Charlotte to power our homes and buildings, will mean safer and healthier communities, and avoiding the use of “unnatural gas,” that according to a recent study by NASA, is dramatically contributing to the warming of the planet, given that fracked gas causes the release of dangerous greenhouse gases such methane and CO2, both which will dramatically worsen climate change.
  • Climate scientists have stated that climate change, caused from the burning of fossil fuels, were major contributing factors to recent droughts in India and California, record breaking and life threatening heat waves, fiercer and more dangerous forest fires in the U.S., the flooding of coastal cities and towns such as Norfolk Va and Washington, DC, and deadly Category 4 and 5 Hurricanes that destroyed Puerto Rico and U.S. Islands in the Caribbean, and caused massive flooding in Houston, Texas.

Newsletters

Categories